“The Joy of the Lord is my Strength”

the-joy-of-the-lord-is-my-strength-blog-title-2

Hello my lovely Truuties,

Have you had those days, or weeks, months or years when you just feel down? It may feel like there’s no hope. Even if you know there is hope, you might not feel the hope.

Last month, I put a Bible verse inside my clear phone case (1 Peter 1:6) which reads, ‘Be truly glad. There is wonderful joy ahead.’ I also have a Bible verse monthly calendar and for February, it says: ‘Be joyful always’ (1 Thessalonians 5:16). I soon came to realise that both of these verses fit perfectly with what I’ve been thinking about recently.

One of the questions I answered in my Q&A post was “How do you make yourself feel better when you are down?”. That question is what planted the seed for this blog post. Since then, God has been reminding me of a lot of things to do with joy when getting through hard times.

I watched a film called ‘God’s Not Dead 2’ and the main character is a teacher called Grace, who goes through a terribly difficult situation. There was a point when she felt hopeless and thought she would loose everything. Grace must have felt as though there was a wall that she couldn’t break through or climb over. However, she prayed about it and God took that wall away and made everything come together amazingly!

Although Grace found it hard to be happy during that time, she still had joy when she remembered God’s love.

When being a Christian was something that I just understood in my head, my life would sometimes feel miserable when something bad happened. My strength wasn’t in the Lord. Now that my faith is in my heart, I can feel joy even when I’m not happy and I’m so thankful for that!

You see, I believe that happiness and joy are very different. A lovely Christian YouTuber called Cambria Joy explained this incredibly well in one of her videos:

“Don’t forget that happiness is a feeling and feelings are temporal. We cannot solely base our lives on seeking out a feeling that can leave us in the blink of an eye or with the changing of circumstances. Happiness is not something that you reach or attain. It’s a feeling, a decision, a choice. Choose to be happy – but don’t base your life around it because you will miss the mark sometimes. So, instead of living for happiness, why not discover the contentment of joy?”

Joyce Meyer wrote:

“You can get unhappy, but you cannot get unjoyed because joy is something that God gives you.”

This is the song that gave me the idea for the title of this post – The Joy of the Lord is my Strength (Psalm 28:7):

 

heart design

I send you all my love and prayers to those of you who are going through a tough time! I’d like to encourage you to trust in the Lord and receive the joy He is offering you right now. I hope this post has helped you or moved you in some way, whether you are finding life hard at the moment or not! 🙂

Challenge: The Bible verse for March on my calendar is, ‘Encourage one another and build each other up.” (1 Thessalonians 5:11). Please join me in this mission to spread the joy to your friends and family by speaking kind words and being there for each other!

Lots of love,

Truuty xx

I would love to hear from you in the comments!

What are your thoughts on this?

Feel free to email me (truutyblog@outlook.com) if there’s anything you’d like to chat about! 🙂

11 thoughts on ““The Joy of the Lord is my Strength”

  1. This helped so much! On Friday I had an overload of homework and was struggling to be joyful this weekend. The last thing on my mind was praying but from reading this, I know all I need to do is talk to him and he will always be there, listening and ready! ❤️ Xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I loved reading this post, it’s so true! I especially love what you said about the difference between happiness and joy and the way you described your faith being in your heart, rather than your head. Also love all of the bible verses!! I’m really looking forward to reading more of these sort of posts, it would be lovely to hear some more about your March challenge 🙂 G xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this!! You are such an inspiration Truuty. This part particularly resonates with me:
    ‘When being a Christian was something that I just understood in my head, my life would sometimes feel miserable when something bad happened. My strength wasn’t in the Lord. Now that my faith is in my heart, I can feel joy even when I’m not happy and I’m so thankful for that!’
    Amen!!
    You are a super star!
    Rosie x.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I am so glad I found you as a nominee by Emma’s Attic! of my blog-aholic award. Hope you enjoy it and will also check out my blog and see what’s cooking in our kitchens. As a blog-aholic friend I will now be able to follow you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so much for your comment! I’ve had a look at your blog and it seems amazing! I’ll have to try out some of the recipes when I have time! 🙂 Thank you for following!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

