What I Like to do on Christmas Eve

what-i-like-to-do-on-christmas-eve-blog-title

Hello my lovely Truuties,

For me, Christmas Eve is a day for preparing the final things for Christmas day, enjoying time with family, as well as having a good night’s sleep so that I’m alert and awake for the next day. I know most people probably stay up quite late on Christmas Eve, hehe!

In today’s post, I’m going to share with you the kind of things I usually like to do on 24th December! 🙂

♥♥♥

So in the morning, I like to wake up not too late but not too early because I want to make the most of the day whilst feeling awake! I like to try and be really productive on special days like this so I will definitely make my bed before anything else. Making my bed making me feel that I have made a good start to the day and it motivates me to do everything else. (Please comment if you would like to see a post about my morning routine!) Then I’ll open the last drawer in my advent truck!

Throughout the day, I spend lots of time with my family (or I could say ‘parents’ instead of ‘family’ because there are only three of us in our house hehe). At breakfast, it’s nice to chat and enjoy time together instead of rushing to finish eating like we would usually do on a normal school day. This year, another family thing today is a chat (on Google Hangouts) with my amazing grandparents, who live in Japan!

Sometimes on Christmas Eve, I do some baking with my mum, which is so lovely because I think it’s great to do what you love around Christmas time, especially with people you love! 🙂 This year, I did a lot of baking before today (24th December) and after lunch, I’m going to be taking some shortbread to some of our friends as a Christmas gift!

In the afternoon, I will play some games such as Dobble and Bananagrams with my mum and dad, which should be lots of fun! We will also make sure the house is looking Christmassy for tomorrow!

When having tea (or dinner…whatever you call the evening meal haha), during this season, I love watching a film or something on TV. I’m not a regular film or TV watcher but when it comes to Christmas-time, I am! 🙂 Today, we’re planning to watch ‘The Muppet Christmas Carol’! I watched it for the first time last year and I really enjoyed it! If you haven’t seen it before, I recommend it for sure! (Especially if you’re someone like me who isn’t a big fan of the creepy and scariness of the Disney version!)

One of my favourite ways to wind down and relax before bed is to have a bath and use a nice bath bomb! Tonight I’ll be using one of the Lush ones that my half-brother and his family gave me for my birthday (Blackberry Bath Bomb). It has frankincense oil in it so I think it’s just right for this time of year!

The last thing I love doing is to have some ‘me-time’ in a hygge way! Imagine this…fairy lights are glowing, slow-paced Christmas music is playing, some lovely scented candles are lit and you’re sitting in bed with a calming drink like chamomile tea, wearing cosy pyjamas and warm fluffy socks. You’re feeling refreshed and happy after a nice bath. It’s not very late at night so you have time to relax for a while. You’re reading some of your favourite blogs, then afterwards you turn off all your electronics and read a book. Before going to bed, you write your thoughts in your diary or journal and then reflect on the day or maybe the week, the month or the year. When you’re feeling tired, you switch all the lights off and looking forward to the day ahead, you go to sleep. That’s what I really enjoy doing on special days like this. Personally, another thing I love doing before bed is to read a little bit of my Bible as it really encourages me and fills my mind with the good truth. 🙂

♥♥♥

I hope you enjoyed reading this! Don’t forget to come back again tomorrow for another post! Have a lovely day!

heart design

Lots of love,

Truuty xx

I would love to hear from you in the comments!

Did you enjoy reading this? Have you written any Christmassy posts recently? If you have, please link it in a comment and I will take a look! What do you usually do on Christmas Eve? What’s the purpose of Christmas Eve, for you?

19 thoughts on “What I Like to do on Christmas Eve

  1. Thank you very much, Natalie! ❤️ I made shortbread, mince pies and mini cheese and paprika palmiers! Oh that sounds nice (mincepies)! Enjoy baking! 🙂 Thank you! Merry Christmas! 🎄 xx

    Like

  2. Thank you very much, Emma! ❤️ Yes I agree – so special and cosy! 😊 That’s lovely, I hope you enjoyed making it! Actually I was planning to make a gingerbread house today but we didn’t have time so we’ll do it another day hehe. 🙂 I’m happy to hear that you are looking forward to my post tomorrow! Merry Christmas! 🎄 xx

    Like

  3. Oh, that sounds fun! Today we went and saw a movie, then my siblings and I sang in the choir at our Christmas Eve service. I like to think that Christmas Eve is one of the best parts of the Christmas season, since soon it’ll all be over and the last bit of waiting is done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I did enjoy reading this.. we have Christmas Eve dinner at my moms and the grand kids open present 🎁.. and I think how blessed I really am.. Merry Christmas..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

