Recipe: Christmas Shortbread Stars

recipe-christmas-shortbread-stars-blog-title

Hello my lovely Truuties,

As one of my Christmassy blog posts, I thought I would share with you the recipe I have been using to make my Christmas shortbreads since last year. I’ve baked shortbread at Christmas-time for some of the special people in my life for quite a long time now, even when I was very little, my mum would make them and I would come with her to give the shortbread to people – it’s now like a tradition of mine!

(This recipe is by Tanya Burr, however, I did adapt it ever so slightly. You can find the original recipe on her blog if you click here!)

Christmas Shortbread Stars

Makes: Approximately 24 shortbread stars      Difficulty: Easy

You will need:

  • 200g plain flour and 100g rice flour (Tanya uses 300g plain flour, though.)
  • 200g softened butter
  • 100g caster sugar
  • a few drops of vanilla extract

How to make them:

  1. Rub the flour and butter together in a bowl until you have a crumbly consistency
  2. Stir in the caster sugar and vanilla extract
  3. Work together until a dough forms
  4. Wrap the dough up in cling film and refrigerate for an hour
  5. When you are ready, preheat the oven to 150°c (Tanya says 130°c but I think she used a fan-assisted oven.)
  6. Lightly flour a surface and roll the dough out to 1cm thickness (When the dough comes straight out of the fridge, it is very hard and crumbly so I waited for it to warm up a bit and I softened it with my hands.)
  7. Use a cutter to cut star shapes in the dough and arrange on a lined baking tray
  8. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes until they are a pale golden colour
  9. Serve with a dusting of snowy icing sugar (From experience, the icing sugar will just sink into the shortbread if you dust them when they are still hot. It’s best to let the shortbread stars cool before sprinkling them with icing sugar.)
  10. Enjoy or share with others! 🙂

 

heart designI hope you like this recipe!

Thank you so much, everyone, for helping me reach over 200 followers and for all your support towards me and this blog! I want this community of ‘Truuties’ (my readers) to continue growing – thank you for the growth it has already had.

Also, I need to mention that I have started a YouTube channel! My YouTube topics are different from my blog topics but there might be some of you out there who are interested in my YT channel too so please click here to take a look! 🙂

Please do come back for another Christmassy post which I’ll hopefully be posting next week (18/12/2016)!

Lots of love,

Truuty xx

I would love to hear from you in the comments!

Do you enjoy baking around Christmas-time? If you do, what do you like to bake? Do you think you’ll try out this recipe? Or have you already used it from Tanya Burr’s blog (maybe she has it in her book as well?)? Have you recently shared a Christmas baking post on your blog? If you have, please link it in a comment – I would love to check it out!

15 thoughts on “Recipe: Christmas Shortbread Stars

  1. Those sound delicious! The conversion of the measurements may not be accurate, but I would love to try making them. Usually around Christmas time we have a whole day just for baking Christmas cookies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 💛💜💛💜💛this is a lovely recipie, me and my sister Carla made these just last night and they where fabulous!, we made them for our grandmother, she asked how we made them and showed her all of your blog posts she was amazed at how a teenager had made this amazing website! X

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi Wendy, thank you for your very kind comment, it’s made my day! ❤️ I’m so happy to hear that you used the recipe!! 😊 Aw please tell your grandmother that I said ‘thank you’ to her lovely reaction to my blog! Have a good day xxxxx

    Like

  4. Pingback: What I Like to do on Christmas Eve | Truth and Beauty

Leave a Reply

