Truuciellen|Some Stereotypes of Christianity

Hello my lovely Truuties,

This post is a collab with my wonderful friend, Grace, from Graciellen! Her blog is mostly about fashion, baking, lifestyle and her thoughts. Grace is always so lovely and friendly in her posts so I always love reading her blog! We thought we would start a series together, called ‘Truuciellen’ (which is a mashup of our blog names), about our thoughts on our faith and lots of things to do with that! Excitingggg!!

Grace and I were going to do a Q&A together, about our Christian faith, but we realised how much we could write for just one question so we decided to do a whole post based around that great question! The question was asked by Ocean from My Life in an Ocean of Fear. She asked this: “What are some stereotypes/ideas about Christianity that are not true and annoy you when people think they are?” This really is a great question, thank you, Ocean!

Just before you start reading the main part of this blog post, we would like to say that we don’t get ‘annoyed’ when people believe in the stereotypes. We respect what others think and understand why a lot of people think those ideas of Christianity are true. Please remember, while reading this post, that we really do not want to offend or hurt anyone in any way. This is just our opinion and we want to share it with our readers! 🙂


Truuty: One of the main stereotypes that people think about Christians is that church is boring, strict and just for older people. 

Graciellen: Yeah definitely! For example, at school when I tell people that I’m going to church on Sunday they often imagine a more traditional church and get confused when I mention our worship band, which has drums and electric guitars! We both go to a Charismatic church, which means that we are Christians who are filled with the Holy Spirit – God’s incredible presence living inside of us. 

Truuty: Every summer, we both go to a Christian festival for teenagers called Newday. It’s really fun and we have talks and seminars about all sorts of different topics ranging from tough questions such as ‘Science vs God’ to true stories about how people have followed God through their lives. There are lots of good speakers including Martha Collison from the Bake Off! 

Graciellen: We go to Newday with our Church youth group (there were 40 of us this year!) and have lots of fun together playing games, going to the cafes for milkshakes and just hanging out. Spending time with my closest friends, lots of lovely new people and with Jesus is so much fun, it’s honestly the best week of my year 🙂

Truuty: Yes it’s my highlight of my year too! Another thing people think of when talking about Christianity is that Christians are all ‘goody-two-shoes’ and have to follow lots of rules for God to love us. However, we believe that God loves us no matter what. 

Graciellen: We choose to live our lives in a way that honours and brings glory to God, we’re not forced to. Because we love God we don’t want to hurt Him in the same way that I wouldn’t want to hurt my family or friends.

Truuty: It isn’t because of rules that we choose not to join in with things like gossip and swearing, we want to follow God’s plan for our lives and live how He wants us to.

Graciellen: Even though we choose to live like this, we don’t want to be judgemental of people who don’t! You might have had experience of a Christian being unkind or judgemental of your lifestyle, but most Christians aren’t like that at all.

Truuty:  We want to love people in the same way that God loves us, not to judge or be critical. The bible says in 1 John 4:19 – ‘We love because He first loved us.’.  

Graciellen: Another Bible verse that I find really helpful is in Matthew 7:1-5 – ‘Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticise their faults – unless, of course, you want the same treatment. That critical spirit has a way of boomeranging. It’s easy to see a smudge on your neighbour’s face and be oblivious to the ugly sneer on your own.’

heart design

Thank you so much for reading this post! We hope you enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed writing it! Please let us know if you would like to read more posts like this!

Lots of love,

Truuty and Graciellen xx

We would love to hear from you in the comments!

What do you think of this post? Any thoughts? Would you like to see another post like this? Would you like more ‘Truuciellen’ posts?

14 thoughts on “Truuciellen|Some Stereotypes of Christianity

  1. Hi Truuty. I hope I’m not offending anyone if I ask this, but I’m curious to know what do you think of the LGBT community? Do you think being a lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender is being sinful? And do you support the LGBT community?
    – Beth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Beth, thank you for your comment! Don’t worry, you didn’t offend me at all! 😉 That’s a great question – Grace and I were thinking of including something about it in the blog post but thought we should learn more about it before putting it in a post. The answer to your question does vary depending on what an individual Christian believes and the way they interpret the teachings in the Bible. I believe that being lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender is not right (sinful) in God’s eyes. If I wasn’t a Christian, I’m sure I would find this very shocking and would probably start doubting God. However, just because it isn’t right, it doesn’t mean that God doesn’t LOVE people who identify themselves as being in the LGBT community. He loves EVERYONE!! I think that the sinful part of being lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender is not the feeling of being those personalities but having a sexual relationship with someone who is not the opposite gender. If any of my friends were in the LGBT community, I would still love them and treat them the same as someone who wasn’t! 🙂 I hope this has helped! Lots of love from Truuty xx

    Like

  3. Thanks for answering my question! I was just wondering coz I am Christian and bisexual (I like guys and girls), and I came out last year. My parents and friends (who are very devout Christians) were all very supportive of me, and I wish more Christians would supportive the LGBT+ community, because after all, there are LGBT+ Christians out there.

    Btw, I don’t have a blog so I just linked to my favourite website.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

