The Power of Smiles

img_1265

Hello, Truuties!

I hope you are all well and are having a lovely day (And if you are in the UK, I hope you are having a lovely Mother’s Day!). If you’re not, I hope this post will cheer you up!

I’m so sorry for not sticking to my schedule of posting – I’ve been very busy recently. On Thursday, I had my grade 4 ballet exam! With all the extra ballet exam coaching, and practising at home on top of all my regular dance lessons (and homework for school!!), I haven’t had much time to be blogging. I’ve missed you, Truuties!

Sight_2016_02_28_123928_477

This is a rose from my dance teachers to wish good luck for the exam.

Reflecting on my ballet exam and thoughts on the power of smiles:

Something that my ballet teacher said to the class during an exam coaching lesson was this, “What’s the best thing to do when you have to do a dance you don’t enjoy doing, in an exam? Smile.”. This doesn’t just apply in ballet exams, it can apply to so many situations in life. For example, what do you not enjoy doing? It could just be small things like doing some difficult homework or cleaning the house. It can be slightly bigger things too, like giving a presentation at school (if you aren’t very confident) or working with someone you don’t get along with. It could even apply to bigger situations, can you think of any examples? Please leave a comment if you have thoughts on that.

Let’s re-phrase what my ballet teacher said. “Always SMILE when you have to do something you don’t enjoy doing.” Smiles make a very big difference.

The examiner at my ballet exam was smiling all the time, especially when I smiled too. This made me feel more at ease and confident during my exam. The examiner didn’t say anything big to encourage me during the exam but her lovely smile was so powerful that it encouraged me a lot.

Thinking about smiles, one of my new best friends is a ‘smiler’. Before I got to know her very well, I knew she was really kind because of her naturally beautiful smile. Her smile is what made me want to get to know her more and become good friends with her. Like the ballet examiner, her smile was so powerful.

Challenge: Over the coming week, I’m going to concentrate on smiling when I do things that I don’t particularly enjoy but I have to do. I’m also going to try and be really welcoming with my smile and make a ‘sparkling’ difference with my smile. I encourage you all to join me in this challenge and explore the power of smiles.

Lots of love,

Truuty xx

I would love to hear from you in the comments!

Have you experienced the power of smiles? Are you going to join me in the challenge? Any other thoughts on this post?

 

7 thoughts on “The Power of Smiles

  1. A big thing for me would be singing solo. Smiling always helps to calm me and helps to connect me to the audience. I love smiling at people I don’t know as I pass by them day to day. Smiles are like sunshine you wear, each and every ray is beautiful!!!! Thank you for this wonderful reminder to smile! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Mahja! Thank you very much! I can’t wait to get the results! Thank you so much for nominating me! It means so much to me! I would love to do the award if I have time, it looks so cool! Thank you again!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you very much for your lovely comment, Allie. It is wonderful to hear your response to my post. Yes, that is a great way of describing smiles! And you are very welcome for the reminder, I wanted to share my thoughts with you all and I really enjoyed writing the post. πŸ™‚ Lots of love xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Sunshine Blogger Award + My Ballet Exam Results! | Truth and Beauty

Leave a Reply

