Care and Respect

img_1265

Hello Truuties!

Welcome to the first post of ‘Truutiful Thoughts’! Usually these posts will be extra posts but as I did the Quote of the Day challenge as my extra posts, my ‘Truutiful Thoughts’ post will be my main weekly post.

Recently, at school, I sometimes felt like people didn’t care about how I felt and thought they could get away with things with me just because I’m not an argumentative person. Small things can make people feel this way.

Imagine this: The person sitting next to you in a Geography lesson doesn’t have a glue stick, you are happy to lend yours to them. Someone sitting in the other side of the classroom comes over and asks you if they can use the glue too. You want to be nice to them and help them so you say, “Yep!” and smile. Before you know it, the glue stick is being passed around the class (as you expected would happen) and everyone is using it. The glue stick is from a friend and it is good and actually makes things stick. Then you see that some people in the class, who are sitting on the other side of the classroom, are using the glue and giggling in a sort of…mischievous way. When you get the glue stick back, it’s broken and there is no glue left when before there was loads of glue and it worked really well.

That is one of the things that happened recently to me and made me feel quite upset and not cared for. I felt like the people who broke it didn’t have care for the fact that a) someone bought it and b) it belonged to someone and c) if you think more deeply, someone took time to manufacture the glue.

But then I thought, do I personally always respect other people? Respect can both be given and received. Receiving respect makes you feel cared for and giving respect can make you feel happy that you might have made someone else feel cared for.

Challenge: I’m going to try to speak to at least one person this coming week at school who might not always feel cared for or respected and I hope I can bring a smile to their face! I welcome you to join me in this challenge and if you do, I would love to hear how it went!

Lots of love,

Truuty xx

I would love to hear from you in the comments!

Have you recently felt disrespected?  Have you ever had a week or a couple of weeks where you have been more aware of disrespect? What do you think about respect? Do you like receiving respect? Are you going to join me in the challenge?

15 thoughts on “Care and Respect

  1. Thank you for commenting! I’m happy to hear that you will join me in the challenge! Yes, it would be and I would love to make a difference in some small ways.

    Like

  2. I definitely need to join in on this challenge! I know EXACTLY how you feel and I’m sorry about that. Some people just have no couth whatsoever, and it’s saddening to witness it. I don’t think they personally didn’t care for /you/ they just don’t know how to be nice or respect other people’s things 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay I’m so happy to hear that you are joining me with the challenge! Thank you for your lovely comment! Yes, I agree, it wasn’t really me that they didn’t care about, it was the fact that they didn’t really respect that it was mine. It is okay now though, I’m not upset any more haha. There were other things that made me feel that way though too. Lots of love xx

    Like

  4. I’ll join in on your challenge 🙂 I’ve had something similar happen to me in the past where I shared something and it came back broken, it made me a bit mad and sad that people didn’t really respect me to take enough care for the item. I love this blog post though! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you, I’m very happy that you are joining me in the challenge!
    Yes, that’s sad. 😦 I know the glue stick insedent was small but things like that can still make people feel upset or annoyed. I’m over it now though hehe. 🙂 Thank you, I’m glad you like the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

